No orange cake


Last night I was saying how today I was gonna bake this amazing orange cake but sometimes things don’t go according to plan.

My dear husband, bless him, went to the shop early to get all my baking things but couldn’t find almond meal. He asked a young girl at the shop if she new where he could find it and she told him that if she knew what it was she probably would be able to tell him where they stock it. He tried explaining as best as he could (quite limited knowledge of baking :)) but no help. And as I am still not able to drive, I have had to try keeping busy doing other things. I am kind of ashamed to say, but I wasted all day on Facebook playing Candy Crush. And then….All of a sudden a friend tagged me in one of her posts. It was a recipe for a Chocolate and Coke cake.

Chocolate and Coke cake, I have never heard of before but it got me intrigued. I kind of enjoy trying unusual things from time to time. And as it turned out, I had all the ingredients so there was no stopping me and there I was, in the kitchen, once again at 10 o’clock at night. 

Everybody was in front of the TV so I was free to play. Like I said earlier, it was a very unusual recipe but it was very simple to make. If I had to rate difficulty from 1 to 5, I would say, 1. 

Anyway, to cut the long story short, if you are interested in trying something different that tastes good, here is the recipe.

Double chocolate and Coca Cola cake

1 cup Coca Cola (real thing, not diet)
1/2 cup oil 
1 stick butter
3 Tablespoon cocoa
2 cups sugar
2 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1/2 cup buttermilk
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon vanilla

Frosting:

1 stick butter
3 Tablespoon cocoa
6 Tablesppon of cream or milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 3/4 cups confectioner’s sugar

In a saucepan, mix Coca Cola, oil, butter and cocoa and bring to a boil. In another bowl, combine the sugar, flour and salt. Pour the boiling Cola mixture over the flour mixture and beat well. Add the eggs, buttermilk, soda and vanilla and beat well. Pour mixture into a greased and floured 13 x 9 inch baking pan and bake at 350 degrees or 20 to 25 minutes. Remove pan. Cool for about 10 minutes before frosting.

Frosting: In a saucepan, combine the butter, cocoa, and milk. Heat until the butter melts. Beat in the remaining ingredients and spread on the cake while it’s still warm. Enjoy!

Image

 

I must admit, I did make a small change with icing. I personally thought it was way too sweet so I added about 100g of dark chocolate to it. Made a big difference. And I wished I had some fresh raspberries to go with it but orange was nice too. Or if you enjoy rich sweet desserts, maybe some fresh cream or ice cream would taste really good with it. 

If any of you try this cake, please let me know what you think. 

 

 

2 thoughts on “No orange cake

Leave a Reply

